About BTEC

BTECs are chosen by over 1 million learners every year 
BTEC offers a range of professional qualifications for anyone taking their first steps into the world of work, progressing through their careers, planning to enter university, or starting an apprenticeship. After 30 years of proven success, more and more employers and Higher Education institutions across the globe are choosing BTEC-qualified candidates for their practical knowledge and employability skills.

Why Study BTEC?

Many industry sectors have a set of National Occupational Standards that professionals must follow. The learning content of our BTECs is built around these National Occupational Standards, which is why BTECs are recognised as valuable qualifications by the Standard Setting Body (SSB) and/or Sector Skills Council (SSC) for each industry.

How are BTECs Graded?

BTECs are graded using a Pass (P), Merit (M), Distinction (D) and Distinction* (D*) scale. Depending on the size of your course, you may receive one, two or three grades. If the work you produce isn’t of a high enough quality to pass with a P grade, you will be awarded a U, which means ‘Unclassified’.

BTEC Nationals qualify for UCAS points. You can apply for university places through UCAS – the University and Colleges Admissions Service. Find out more about UCAS and UCAS points at www.ucas.com.

How Will I be Assessed?

BTECs are made up of a number of units, which are usually assessed through assignments that are both set and marked by your teacher or course tutor. However, some BTECs contain externally marked tests (exams).

Assignments can include tests, research, essays, projects, investigations, artwork, fieldwork and experiments, and often link theory with practical exercises.

The course specification, which you’ll find on the subject page for each BTEC qualification, will provide more information on how your course is assessed.

As you are assessed throughout your course, you can analyse and improve your performance in the same way as you would in a workplace.